Global Warming Follies


Turn off that tap!

Posted in Follies by tjgavin on August 25, 2008

You may not realize it, but if you leave the water running when you brush your teeth you could be causing a year’s worth of pain to your roomie.

DEAR MISS MANNERS: With the onset of global warming, now more than ever must we be more environmentally aware and do more to ensure a safer planet for all of us. I believe that making small changes in everyday life can have a great impact on creating a more eco-friendly world. That said, it irritates me to see other people being wasteful and ignorant of how their behavior is so damaging. For example, a roommate used to leave the water running while she brushed her teeth.

I can easily correct my friends and family, but what about people, like my roommate, with whom I am not as close? The incident with her occurred over a year ago, and I still feel guilty for not correcting her behavior. As an environmentalist, I feel I should say something, but is it appropriate? And, if so, how should I say it?

 Aren’t you glad your not this numbskull’s friend or family?

Link

2 Responses to 'Turn off that tap!'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Turn off that tap!'.

  1. Erin said,

    Ugh. Every conversation probably starts with “what you really should be doing is…”. I’m sure she’s also wondering why she isn’t invited to more parties.

  2. Said "numbskull" said,

    Hi there,

    I am actually upset that Miss Manners basically told all her readers that it’s better to waste water and continue to destroy our planet than potentially hurt somebody’s feelings.

    I’ve seen people get mad at others for more trivial things, and, you know what, those “other” people get over it! Just because I refrain from saying, “The faucet’s running. Let me turn it off.” doesn’t mean that we’ll all join hands and sing “Top of the World”!! Pretty soon our planet will be so depleted, there won’t be any people around to be nice to! How about that!

    I do not go around correcting people, but I still cringe when I hear an unused faucet running or when I see plastic and aluminum foil in the garbage cans.

    I am usually tactful and polite, which is why I never say anything, but now I’m thinking of being more upfront and honest because people in general suck and are self-absorbed. If it’s easier to drive down 2 blocks in a Hummer than walk, they’ll do it. Who cares how much fuel they’re emitting–it doesn’t affect them directly!

    Just don’t come crying to me if your wasteful behavior leads to a water shortage or if you stop breathing because of all the air pollution.


Leave a Reply

